"Let's make Tulsa a Monarch City!"

butterflylogocolorfinalwithlineMonarch butterflies and other pollinators serve an important role in our food supply and growth of other plants that surround our communities. Oklahoma is along the migration path of the monarch and the plants we grow will impact their population.  Sustainable Tulsa is working with the Monarch Initiative of Tulsa to help address the decline of the monarch and the role that Oklahomans can play to decrease the plight of this cherished community member.

Certifying your yards and your business campuses as a Monarch Waystation is one way that you can take action today to help the monarchs. Visit here to learn more about how you can certify your property as a Monarch Waystation.

If you are interested in taking part, contact any of us listed below. You can also connect with us on Facebook and Instagram for more information.

 

MISSION

To provide information promoting the creation of habitats to increase the monarch population during migration through the Tulsa area.

 

PARTNERING ORGANIZATIONS

The Oxley Nature Center
Eddie Reese
Director
eddiereese@cityoftulsa.org

Sustainable Tulsa
Corey Williams
Executive Director
corey@sustainabletulsainc.org

The Nature Conservancy
Jay Pruett
Director of Conservation
jpruett@tnc.org

Tulsa Botanic Garden
Lori Hutson
Communications & Programs
Director
lori@tulsabotanic.org

Tulsa Garden Center
Mike Blake
Education & Marketing Manager
mblake@tulsagardencenter.com

Riverfield Country Day School
Pam O'Halloran
Educator
pohalloran@riverfield.org

Tulsa Zoo
Ric Kotarsky
Wildlife Conservation & Research Manager
rkotarsky@tulsazoo.org